Skip to main content

Congratulations to all of our 2016 Newhouse winners! More than 320 Newhouse projects were on display at Robert Morris University’s State Street Gallery, representing more than 500 students, 23 schools and 17 teachers.

Thank you to everyone who participated, and extend a special thank you to our 37 jurors. This group of local professionals represented 24 firms from across the Chicago area. On behalf of the students and teachers, we thank you for your time and feedback. Through your efforts, you’ve encouraged the Newhouse student competitors to think of design in new and different ways.

Overall Grand Prize Winners

Advanced Physical and Digital Model: Mixed-use Buildings

Christopher Mena
Curie Metro High School
Teacher: Paul Joanes
Grade: Senior (12)

Digital Model: Chicago Bungalow

Giovanni Saldana
Benito Juarez Community Academy
Teacher: Leslie Weaver
Grade: Junior (11)

Fine Arts: Architectural Art

Jose Camargo
Benito Juarez Community Academy
Teacher: Leslie Weaver
Grade: Senior (12)

Graphic Design: Chicago Poster

Delores Stallworth
ACE Technical Charter High School
Teacher: Brenda Vera
Grade: Senior (12)

Industrial Design: Community Bench

Rafael Gallardo
Benito Juarez Community Academy
Teacher: Leslie Weaver
Grade: Junior (11)

Photography: Design Principles

Rafael Gallardo
Benito Juarez Community Academy
Teacher: Leslie Weaver
Grade: Junior (11) 

See all Competition Prize Winners

Competition Jurors

Adam Tafoya, TEAM Englewood Community Academy (CPS)

Anna Aversing, Wight & Company

Catherine Tinker, Columbian Model & Exhibit Works, Ltd.

Chris Nikkel, Eckenhoff Saunders Architects

Daniel Ford, Thomas Architects

Darmika Ford, N/A

David Byrd, Blinderman Construction

David Etlinger, Arup

Dean Arnold, O'Neil Industries, Inc./W.E. O'Neil Construction Co.

Doug Smith, Perkins+Will

Elle Ricketts, Urban Echo

Evan Watson, FitzGerald Associates Architects

Fareed Syed, Arup

Felix Martinez, Partners by Design

Hana Ishikawa, Site Design Group, ltd.

Huili Feng, Ross Barney Architects

Jackie DeThorne, Promising2Performing

Jackie Wilcox, Eckenhoff Saunders Architects

Jenna Nelson, Partners By DesignJorge Cobo, Arup

Jose Espejo, Studio ARQ, LLC.

Jose Pareja, Studio ARQ, LLC.

Justin Peterson, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP (SOM)

Kara Hoyle, Partners By Design

Karen Rigg, Partners By Design

Kerl Lajeune, Public Building Commission of Chicago

Lynsey Sorrell, Perimeter Architects

Margo Olson, Blinderman Construction

Maya Bird-Murphy, Landon Bone Baker Architects

Nick Barrett, Holabird & Root

Rob Reuland, Site Design Group, ltd.

Robert Zylstra, Partners By Design

Ross Barney, Ross Barney Architects

Sam Marts, Sam Marts Architects & Planners Ltd

Stacy Gauthier, Partners By Design

Steven Santucci, Ghafari Associates

Tamanna Islam, Lendlease