Skip to main content

Hammond, Beeby and Babka, known today as Hammond Beeby Rupert Ainge, Inc., was founded in 1961 by James Hammond. Throughout its history, the firm has completed a wide variety of work including single family homes, large institutional projects, and restorations on historic structures. Their designs have often been influenced by the Classical proportions and ornamentation found in ancient Greek and Roman architecture.

In 1987, Hammond, Beeby and Babka won the competition to design the main branch of Chicago’s library. The Harold Washington Library was completed in 1991 and is one of the firm’s most famous structures. In 2013, Thomas Beeby was the recipient of the Driehaus Award, presented through the University of Notre Dame. The award recognized his lifetime contributions to traditional, Classical and sustainable architecture.