Skip to main content

Congratulations to all of our 2017 Newhouse winners! More than 305 Newhouse projects were on display at Robert Morris University’s State Street Gallery, representing 290 students, 25 schools and 17 teachers.

The Newhouse Competition wouldn’t be possible without our seven partner firms and 39 jurors. This group of local professionals represented 35 firms from across the Chicago area. On behalf of the students and teachers, we thank you for your time and feedback. Through your efforts, you’ve encouraged the Newhouse student competitors to think of design in new and different ways.

Overall Grand Prize Winners

Advanced Architecture: CPS Space Design

CPS Space DesignJulian Jung & Denilson Saavedra
Whitney Young & Lindblom Math and Science Academy
Grade: Seniors (12)

Digital Model: River Barge

River BargeGerardo Arroyo
Benito Juarez Community Academy
Teacher: Leslie Weaver
Grade: Senior (12)

Landscape Architecture: Community Gardens

Community GardensJohn Chau
Curie Metro High School
Teacher: Paul Joanes
Grade: Senior (12)

Graphic Design: Neighborhood Signage

Neighborhood SignageBrian Behrens
Rolling Meadows High School
Teacher: Kent Dyer
Grade: Freshman (9)

Industrial Design: Micro-apartment Furniture

Micro-Apartment FurnitureKatie Kingsbury
Neuqua Valley High School
Teacher: Anne Kingsbury
Grade: Freshman (9)

Photography: Diagonal Streets

Diagonal SteetsZoe Goldberger & Rachel Schonbaum
University of Chicago Laboratory Schools
Teacher: Brian Wildemen
Grade: Juniors (11)

Fine Arts: Viaduct Mural

Viaduct MuralGerardo Arroyo
Benito Juarez Community Academy
Teacher: Leslie Weaver
Grade: Senior (12)

See All Competition Prize Winners

Competition Jurors

Paola Aguirre, Borderless Studio

Vlad Andrejevic, Solomon Cordwell Buenz

Charles Arko, Solomon Cordwell Buenz

Dean Arnold, Recently Retired, W.E. O'Neil Construction Company

Catherine Baker, Landon Bone Baker Architects

Ross Barney, tumu studio

Amir Berbic, AIGA Chicago

Joe Cliggott, HDR Architecture

Chloe Cucinotta, EXPO CHICAGO

Jesper Dalskov, Solomon Cordwell Buenz

Jose Espejo, Studio ARQ

Huili Feng

Daniel Ford, Thomas Architects

Joseph Gonzalez, FAIA, Ghafari Associates

Rebecca Greenberg, Eckenhoff Saunders Architects

Chloe Gurin-Sands, Metropolitan Planning Council

Jeff Jeno, Moody Nolan

Will Johns, Wells Fargo Bank

Craig Krupitzer, Solomon Cordwell Buenz

Kerl Lajeune, Public Building Commission of Chicago

Tocarra Mallard

Sam Marts, Sam Marts Architects & Planners Ltd.

Rashaan Meador, Chicago Public Schools

Lauren Meranda, AIGA Chicago

Josh Mings, Landon Bone Baker Architects

Margo Olson, Blinderman Construction

Cathy Osika, Related Midwest

Renee Prusacki, Gensler

Karen Rigg, Partners by Design

Steven Santucci, Ghafari Associates, LLC

David Sieren, One Design Company / AIGA Chicago

Chris Smith, Out of Chicago Photography

Doug Smith, Perkins+Will

Lynsey Sorrell, Perimeter Architects

Jennifer Wandro, UIC

Gail Wozniak, Solomon Cordwell Buenz

Robert Zylstra, Partners by Design